Six Sigma Improvement Processes

The best known of the Six Sigma process in the breakthrough improvement process.  It is designed to take a process consistently performing an an poorer level and surgically fix it to an improved performance level.  The goal is to avoid a complete redesign and just fix what is absolutely necessary

The 14-step improvement process provides a step-by-step procedure for applying the Six Sigma tools to improving an existing product, process or system.  This process is called the MAIC process after its four main phases:

  • Measure
  • Analyze
  • Improve
  • Control

Before proceeding the problem to be solved must be defined.   The process is also called the DMAIC process with the initial phase being Define.

Scroll to Top